The Better Luthanen

Well…my oh-so wonderful followers have spoken! They are sick of me and want to hear from someone new! Well folks, here you go! Introducing my amazing sister, Maddie Luthanen!

I hadn’t always wanted to be a teacher, I debated between being a mail woman or a truck driver, but soon realized that those jobs didn’t have the same impact becoming a teacher would. School was not always my favorite thing, but whose is? There’s a Maya Angelou quote that I think is very prominent for teachers: “People don’t remember what you said. They don’t remember what you did. They remember how you made them feel.” This is why I want to become a teacher, because of the people in my educational life.

I remember crying for my mom on the first couple days of kindergarten, as many of the other kids did, but that lasted much longer for me than anyone else. I don’t exactly remember what it was about school that made me not want to be there, maybe the freakishly small toilet in our classroom or the fact that I couldn’t cut out holes in the middle of construction paper. Saying goodbye to mom my got easier as I got older, but the school work did not. Learning to read was a struggle. The parent helpers would wait for me as I tried to sound the words out, but was unsuccessful most of the time. My dad would take me to the library after school and we would get beginner books to work on my reading with. I was so excited when I learned how to spell my last name so I could finally get my library card. That was probably one of the most exciting days of my childhood life. I think these facts really helped my love of reading prosper and also helped me become a much better reader, something I would definitely need.

Third grade was my favorite year throughout all of my schooling. Maybe the multiplication songs and the class pet helped out with that fact, but the real reason why it was my favorite was because of my teacher. She was more than a teacher, she helped me out with personal problems and taught me how to be a better person. I am still convinced that I was her favorite because she always snuck me jolly ranchers. She made school fun, which was something I hadn’t experienced before third grade. School was more of a chore for me, but I looked forward to attending that class everyday. After third grade I knew I wanted to be a teacher because mine had made such an impact on me and was such an inspiration. I wanted to be that same person for other students.

Middle school was the typical drama-filled, awkward stage of life for me. With all the craziness going on, I don’t even remember those school years too much, and then I was on to high school. I loved high school: being able to pick your own classes, being involved in clubs, homecoming and prom. I also had several influential teachers in high school that just continued to motivate me to become like them. My English teacher my senior year was awesome; just like my third grade teacher, he made school fun and the work didn’t seem like work because it was something I wanted to do to excel. I had a math teacher that really pushed me and I didn’t like her all of the time but I appreciate that she didn’t give up on me and pushed me to do the best I could even when I thought I couldn’t. I had a lot of opportunities in high school to teach others and help students out like volunteering through NHS, Link Crew–a freshman-welcoming program, and being a teacher aide at my local elementary school. Graduation was an equally exciting and scary time for me. I knew exactly where I was going and was happy about it, but I was nervous that I wasn’t going to be good enough for college or that I would miss home too much. I didn’t want my days living at home and seeing my friends to be over.

I am now a freshman at UW-Eau Claire studying Elementary and Special Education and couldn’t be happier about it. Yes, I do miss home and my friends and occasionally reminisce about high school, but knowing that I am close to my dream is so amazing. I know that becoming a teacher will be so fulfilling to me and I hope to have as much of an impact on my students as my teachers and school experiences did for me. Although not always the best memories, my education is what has shaped me to be who I am today and I am very thankful for every teacher I had.

Okay guys, it’s me again! Was that enough of a break for you all?

I want to say thank you to Maddie. She is truly going to make an incredible teacher because of everything she has experienced. She is such an inspiration to me, and she is definitely someone who inspired me to become a teacher. I’m going to try pushing her to start her own blog, because she has some pretty incredible things to say!

Leave a Reply

